Friday, October 07, 2016

[105] Diverse cast of MTSU supporters appear in newest ‘True Blue Pledge’ video

Middle Tennessee State University again enlisted a diverse cast of students, faculty, staff and alumni to recite the latest video expression of what is becoming a cherished Blue Raider tradition.

The True Blue Pledge is recited each fall at MTSU’s annual University Convocation ceremony during which university President Sidney A. McPhee formally welcomes new students to campus and explains MTSU rituals and traditions.

The pledge, which begins with the simple phrase “I am True Blue,” underscores MTSU’s core values of honesty and integrity; respect for diversity; engagement in the community; and committing to reason, not violence.

“These words express not only the ideals the University wishes to share with its students but also our devotion to student success,” said McPhee, who enlisted a task force five years ago to develop the university’s foundational values and ultimately the pledge that captures the spirit of those values.

Here is the video:

The True Blue Pledge reads:

“I am True Blue.
“As a member of this diverse community, I am a valuable contributor to its progress and success. I am engaged in the life of this community. I am a recipient and a giver.
“I am a listener and a speaker. I am honest in word and deed. I am committed to reason, not violence. I am a learner now and forever.
“I am a BLUE RAIDER. True Blue!”

Those appearing in the video include:

Madison Tracy — MTSU Student Government Association president, public relations major
Rahsaan Robinson — SGA senator for the College of Media and Entertainment, Interfraternity Council vice president of membership development, student orientation assistant, Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity member, marketing major
Mei Han — director, MTSU Center for Chinese Music and Culture
Megan Barry — MTSU student ambassador, Blue Elite, student orientation assistant
Zach Hirt — MTSU Sigma Chi Fraternity president, finance major
Pastor James McCarroll — chairman, MTSU Community Engagement Council
Shea Kramer — Blue Elite, nursing major
Don Witherspoon — MTSU alumnus (’64), president, MTSU National Alumni Association
Roy Brewer — associate director and assistant chief, MTSU Police Department
Hermon Phuntling — Blue Elite, global studies major
Tyler Bailey — MTSU student ambassador, ROTC cadet, mechatronics major
Courteney Gibson — MTSU soccer player, physics major
Dr. Mary Martin — MTSU Faculty Senate president, MTSU alumnus (’79), mathematics professor
Mason Bradley — Campus School student, future Blue Raider
Brent Stockstill — MTSU football quarterback, leisure sport & tourism major
Ty Petty — MTSU Women’s basketball player, leisure sport & tourism major
Risa Witherow — Blue Elite, geosciences major

Bruce Petryshak — MTSU's vice president for information technology and chief information officer

No comments: