Wednesday, September 30, 2009

[119] Oct. 2 Honors Inauguration to Recognize 22 New Buchanan Fellows

Release date: Sept. 30, 2009

News & Public Affairs Contact: Randy Weiler, 615-898-2919 or
Honors College contact: Dr. John Vile, 615-898-2152 or

Oct. 2 Honors Inauguration to Recognize 22 New Buchanan Fellows

(MURFREESBORO) — The third group of MTSU Buchanan Fellows will be recognized Friday, Oct. 2, during the Buchanan Inauguration, University Honors College Dean John Vile said.
“Our 22 Buchanan Fellows are from five states and 14 towns and cities in Tennessee,” Vile said, adding that the 2009-10 group includes students with an overall ACT score of 31 and a combined 3.9 high-school grade-point average.
The formal program will begin at 6 p.m. in the Paul W. Martin Sr. Honors Building Amphitheatre, Room 106. Because of limited seating, it will be an invitation-only event.
Dr. Eric Klumpe, professor of physics and astronomy and an honors faculty member, will deliver the challenge to the Buchanan Class of 2009.
Vile will introduce Klumpe after introducing Buchanan faculty, including Drs. Angela Hague (English), Richard Hannah (economics and finance), Tammy Melton (chemistry), Karen Petersen (political science) and Tom Strawman (English).
Earlier, sophomore Buchanan Fellows Jessica Taylor and Adam Emerson will add to the welcome by Dr. Diane Miller, interim executive vice president and provost.
Former Dean Phil Mathis, who now is professor emeritus, will provide the introduction of the Book of Town and Gown. Dr. Scott Carnicom, Honors College associate dean, will preside over the ceremonial signing of the book.
All of the Buchanan Fellows will participate in the recitation of the Honors Creed, which will be led by Hague.
Vile, who will serve as master of ceremonies, said the Buchanan Fellowship is the highest award given to an entering Honors College student.
The 2009-10 freshman class of Buchanan Fellows includes Anna C. Caruso of Winchester, Tenn.; Evan Craig of Arlington, Tenn.; Lucy Estes of Franklin, Tenn.; Chelsea Fleet of Arlington; Celia Gendron of Smyrna; Alex Gibson of Cookeville; Ellen Goertzen of Slidell, La.; Courtney Hancock of Columbia, Tenn.; David L. Hull of Chattanooga; Tyler King of Murfreesboro; Emily Kubis of Morristown, Tenn.; Rayne Leonard of Hohenwald, Tenn.; Cody Malone of La Grange, Ky.; Jackson Mooneyham of Gallatin, Tenn.; Elizabeth Pellegrine and Dylan Phillips of Bell Buckle, Tenn.; Alissa Ruggle of Manhattan, Kan.; Lema Sbenaty of Murfreesboro; Chelsea N. Shrum of Mt. Juliet, Tenn.; Hilary Tyson of La Vergne, Tenn.; Leland T. Waite of Meridian, Idaho; and Kelsey Wells of Murfreesboro.
With three Nobel Prize winners (including Buchanan Fellows namesake James M. Buchanan) among its alumni and former faculty, MTSU confers master’s degrees in 10 areas, the Specialist in Education degree, the Doctor of Arts degree and the Doctor of Philosophy degree. MTSU is ranked among the top 100 public universities in the nation in the Forbes “America’s Best Colleges” 2009 survey.

For MTSU news and information, go to


No comments: