Wednesday, April 07, 2010

[404] Accounting Alumni Appreciation Day at MTSU set for April 29

Release date: April 6, 2010

News & Public Affairs contact: Randy Weiler, 615-898-5616 or
Accounting contact: Dr. G. Robert “Smitty” Smith, 615-898-2558 or

Accounting Alumni Appreciation Day at MTSU set for April 29

(MURFREESBORO, TN) – The 19th annual Accounting Alumni Appreciation Day at MTSU will be held Thursday, April 29, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:50 p.m., in the State Farm Lecture Hall (S102) in the Business and Aerospace Building.
The event is targeted to those interested in accounting, auditing, taxation and computer training, event organizers said.
The fee will be $100 for MTSU alumni and $150 for all others. Lunch and breaks are provided. All profits from the event are for accounting scholarships.
Participants will earn eight hours of Continuing Professional Education credit, and have the opportunity to visit with alumni and former professors and see how the campus is changing.
Wynne Baker, KraftCPAs PLLC, will open the conference with a session on the state of community banking. Following this, Dr. Paula Thomas, MTSU accounting professor, will present a session on Financial Accounting Standards Board update. Angie Hoke, Ernst and Young, will complete the morning with a session on audit update.
The afternoon is filled with breakout sessions and one general session. The breakout sessions include:
Dr. Tim Koski, MTSU accounting professor, will discuss issues in taxation;
Dr. Lara Daniel, MTSU professor of business law, will discuss the constitutionality of Sarbanes Oxley;
Dr. Mary Phillips, associate professor of accounting, and Dr. Tammy Bahmanziari, MTSU assistant professor of accounting, are making a presentation on XBRL, or eXtensive. Business Reporting Language;
Dr. Jeannie Harrington, MTSU associate professor of accounting, will be speaking on corporate sustainability and environmental reporting;
Rick Murray, executive vice president and chief financial officer of Commerce Union Bank, will make his usual presentation on an information technology topic; and Dr. Pat Wall, MTSU associate professor of business law, will provide an employment law update.
Dr. G. Robert “Smitty” Smith Jr., MTSU Department of Accounting chair, will make his usual Government Accounting Standards Board update presentation.
The final session of the day will be by Dennis Dycus, director of municipal audit for the state of Tennessee, who will discuss why auditors fail to detect fraud.
Seating is limited, so participants should register early. To do so, visit For more information, call Melanie Nichols in the MTSU Department of Accounting at 615-898-5306.


With three Nobel Prize winners among its alumni and former faculty, Middle Tennessee State University confers master’s degrees in 10 areas, the Specialist in Education degree, the Doctor of Arts degree and the Doctor of Philosophy degree. MTSU is ranked among the top 100 public universities in the nation in the Forbes “America’s Best Colleges” 2009 survey.

For MTSU news and information, go to

No comments: