Friday, December 17, 2010

[246] 250 Faculty and Staff Members Awarded for Years of Service at MTSU Annual Service Award Luncheon

Dec. 16, 2010
Contact: Tom Tozer, 615-898-2919

MURFREESBORO — Approximately 250 faculty and staff members at Middle Tennessee State University were recognized for their years of service at the annual Service Award Luncheon Wednesday, Dec. 15, in the James Union Building.
Among the honorees, two individuals were applauded for 45 years of service to MTSU. They were Dr. Dwight Bullard, associate dean in the Jones College of Business, and Betty R. Smithson, administrative assistant in Student Affairs.
Drs. Robert B. Jones (ret., history) and George E. Kerrick (English) were recognized for 40 years of service.
The following MTSU employees were recognized for 35 years of service: C. Nathan Adams (ret.) and R. Wayne Gober (computer information systems), Gail B. Fedak and Carolyn B. Verge (instructional media resources), Barbara Ann Sensing ( financial aid), and Grady Larry Sizemore (grounds services).
Those receiving awards for 30-plus years of service included: Dr. Ronald H. Aday (Sociology and Anthropology), Dr. David P. Badger (Journalism), Dr. Larry Edward Farmer (ret., accounting), Dr. Bichaka Fayissa (economics and finance), Dr. Gordon Lipscomb Freeman (computer information systems), Virginia Lynn McKnight (biology ), Sherrie K. Murray (Murphy Center operations), Frank Randall O'Brien (ret., WMOT Radio), Betty C. Owen (Phillips Bookstore), Dr. Dennis D. Powell (criminal justice administration) Timothy Lee Redd (Farm Laboratory), Dr. Wayne C. Rosing (biology), and Michael D. Sniderman (speech and theatre).


Founded in 1911, Middle Tennessee State University is a Tennessee Board of Regents institution located in Murfreesboro and is the state’s largest public undergraduate institution. MTSU now boasts one of the nation’s first master’s degree programs in horse science, and the Council of Graduate Schools in Washington, D.C., acclaims MTSU’s Master of Science in Professional Science degree—the only one in Tennessee—as a model program. MTSU recently unveiled three new doctoral degrees in the sciences.

No comments: